Girl Weekend.

That’s right. The man is off on a hunting trip so I’ve had all the time in the world to bake coconut bars, get a pedicure, shop online, shop in-store, pot plants, clean the house and all the other things I usually put off in exchange for doing something with the man.

Oftentimes, I hear women complain about their man’s hobbies — hunting, fishing, golf, working out, and so on. After the man proudly sent me a picture of his kill last night, I started feeling pretty lucky that not only does he have a variety of healthy hobbies but he wants to share them with me. (Until I forget to turn the ringer off on my phone and tip off the deer. Oopsie.)

We’ve been to a few pretty special places in pursuit of one animal or another. Now I don’t mean “climb the highest mountain” special, but more like a winding creek tucked deep into the marsh, an old logging road flanked with giant oaks, a mile long trail speckled with wild flowers, 60 acres of nothing but wheat, gorgeous sunsets, stunning sunrises, you get my point now, right?

These places have such a stillness about them that contrasts so drastically with my normal day of emails pinging, iPhone ringing, deadlines, budgets, meetings… Even though these places are so still, I can feel so much life in them and in exchange, they energize me.

Now I’ve never been married so I can’t really say for sure that women who vent about their husband’s hobbies don’t have valid reasons. Maybe he isn’t pulling his weight around the house or spending enough time with the children, that’s not my business.  But, last weekend, we decided to take a break from paddle boarding so we linked our boards together and just laid down and drifted wherever the tide took us. The man reached for my hand and I felt completely content in that moment. I was happy that we had abandoned laundry, phone calls, emails, house work and everything else going on in our busy lives to instead, spend time in that magically still but electric place.

Here are a few pictures I’ve collected along the way in our pursuit of bird, deer, fish, alligator and each other.

20120929-120327.jpg

Old oaks, stretching out towards the water.

20120929-120336.jpg

Acres and acres of wheat. Surprisingly beautiful.

20120929-120345.jpg

Coral honeysuckle.

20120929-120352.jpg

Oyster shells, bleached by the sun.

20120929-120358.jpg

Reef in The Keys.

20120929-120405.jpg

Sunrise in Islamorada, FL.

20120929-120411.jpg

This is the life, really.

20120929-120417.jpg

Wasn’t expecting to see him there.

20120929-120425.jpg

One of the most beautiful things about the South. Old oaks.

20120929-120434.jpg

Paddle boarding in the creeks, winding through the marsh.

20120929-120630.jpg

Just so you know, this is what the man looks like when he’s ready to hunt. Southern men are so stinkin’ cute.

20120929-120641.jpg

And this is the kill he is so proud of. Partially proud too, partially sad.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

PURPLE SKINNY JEANS

A southern suitor, fashion & football, festivity & more.